grissecon: (Default)
([personal profile] grissecon Feb. 13th, 2005 02:07 am)
Under the cut is my

~grissecon~



userpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpicuserpic

LJ friendsCollage.

Brought to you by [livejournal.com profile] pratibha75 and [livejournal.com profile] teemus.


Who can resist seeing pretty icons all lined up in a row? I don't think I ever noticed before just how many of the icons of my flist have usernames on them. Huh. I think I've put my name on just one icon, lovely topless Xtina at the beach, ages and ages ago.

As to life; it continues apace. I'm attempting to fend off a sudden and sharp desire for porny Harry/Draco (or, rather Draco/Harry, although, really, I wouldn't bitch about who was on top as long as it was porn... this seems to be the HP 'ship of fade-to-black. Argh!) by reading some Storm Constantine.

The Shades of Time and Memory to be precise, which I am enjoying, but not with quite the visceral joy I found in the first Wraeththu series. I don't think the switch from first- to third-person POV has hit me quite this hard since I first read Virginia Wolf's To the Lighthouse. Then, the sudden distance felt jarring but also, absolutely perfect. I knew that there was another part of the story I hadn't read yet, and I could just feel that it would take me right back into someone's skin in that way that only really good stream-of-consciousness narrative can.

In this case, however... with two books out of three down, and the distance of the narrative, and the shifting points of view... I feel bereft. I do think that the approach is appropriate to the story that is being told but, I still have this nagging sense of loss. The intimacy of the first three books was so amazing to me (particularly in Bewitchments) that even though I know this is a different kind of story, I keep thinking about how the different arcs would read if they each got their own book.

I've yet to start in on the fanfic for this, though, so... LOL

From: [identity profile] balfrog.livejournal.com


The switch is a bit disconcerting isn't it?
My copy of Shades has no space left in the marginalia (and this is in the US hardcover version- lots of space)- because I ended up writing in the possible psychological connections for the narrative. You know the emotional force is there, just below the surface, ... argh....

From: [identity profile] grissecon.livejournal.com


Exactly! It's satisfying and frustrating at the same time because we've had the close, from-this-one-character's-point-of-view story before and now we have to make do with the limits of third-person.

I feel like I am reading a "history" (which, I suppose, is the point) and getting all the events in between and after the previous stories. Which is great, but, at the same time, I feel like there's *entire other books* that are much more personal that I'm just not getting to look at.

Which really, is just testament to just how much this world got under my skin.

Also, I'd really love to see your copy of the book! *g* I've just been day-dreaming. Heh.


From: [identity profile] balfrog.livejournal.com


history: yes... and with the more complicated plot, i guess that' was the way to go.
but i so miss the poignant sweetness of the Swift voice,
and (as I battle it out daily, which i like more) the snarkiness mixed with the messed up sadness in book 3. I let out a lot of steam in the Fall Inception article, but damn, that was just trying to not-get-truly pissed at Pellaz. (have re-read to the point that I've moved on to sort of "getting him" finally!)...

Looks like most of the [livejournal.com profile] raythoo are with the trilogy, and the In-folk over at the Storm board don't want to reveal anything... maybe we could comment post alternate days on book5, before the release of book6 in May.
hahahah

From: [identity profile] windowpane.livejournal.com


1) awesome meme

2)
I'm attempting to fend off a sudden and sharp desire for porny Harry/Draco (or, rather Draco/Harry, although, really, I wouldn't bitch about who was on top as long as it was porn.

you are a sick girl!!!!
:)


From: [identity profile] windowpane.livejournal.com


hahahaha!!!

man if you're rubbin one out to draco and harry...
i have uh.....well above age porn for you....

From: [identity profile] pir.livejournal.com


Not sick; just horny.

These are not mutually exclusive... and the latter does seem to inspire the former :)
.

Profile

grissecon: (Default)
grissecon

Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags